Jan 2015 25

PreEmptive Strike 0.1 - Pierce Their Husk EPPreEmptive Strike 0.1
Category: Black Metal / Electro
Album: Pierce Their Husk EP
Stars: 3.5
Blurb: PreEmptive Strike 0.1 teases us with this EP while the band works in the studio, and it shows that the talented duo can mix more black metal into their “dark electro” style.


Known for their harsh yet euphonious sound, Jim “The Blaster” and Cryon – who make up PreEmptive Strike 0.1 – are also metalheads and that is aptly demonstrated on this album. Since the band’s first release in 2006, Lethal Defence Systems, “Blaster” and Cryon have been slyly injecting their own deft doses of black metal, and while this new EP harkens back to the 2012 T.A.L.O.S. release in a lot of ways, everything’s been kicked into high gear for Pierce Their Husk. Of course, having Niklas Kvarforth of the Swedish formation Shining featured on the album might’ve helped amplify the metal overtones.

This EP features three remixes of the previously released song “Interstellar Threat” from the 2010 album The Kosmakrator; although it’s still heavily electronic, the remixes venture into much denser metal territory. In the Nyne remix, the drums become much heavier, showcasing how a few seemingly simple changes can turn a track into something altogether new without completely losing the original itself, which is exactly what remixes should be.

You may be reminded of Rammstein while enjoying this album because of the sick guitar play, harsh haunting vocals, and the industrial sensibilities with which the tracks are so well structured. And although PreEmptive Strike 0.1 was signed to a metal label for this EP, the band will be returning to Infacted Records to release the album currently being working on. This may be a clue to the much heavier direction in which the new music is evolving.
Track list:

  1. Pierce Their Husk (feat. N. Kvarforth) (Original Mix)
  2. Pierce Their Husk (feat. N. Kvarforth) (Skiltron NV 101 Remix)
  3. Interstellar Threat (feat. V28) (2014 Industrial Metal Version)
  4. Interstellar Threat (feat. V28) (Nyne Remix)
  5. The New Era of Immortality (Lyfthrasyr vs PreEmptive Strike 0.1)
  6. Insects Intrude/The War Against the Bugs (Vigilante Mix)
  7. Interstellar Threat (feat. V28) (Nano Infect vs Degenerated Sequences Club Remix)

PreEmptive Strike 0.1 Facebook http://www.facebook.com/preemptivestrike0.1
PreEmptive Strike 0.1 SoundCloud https://soundcloud.com/preempt01
Odium Records/Sonic Hell Website http://www.odiumrex.com
Odium Records MySpace http://www.myspace.com/odiumrex
Odium Records Facebook https://www.facebook.com/OdiumRex
Odium Records Bandcamp https://odiumrecords.bandcamp.com
Purchase at:
Amazon CD
Amazon MP3
Grace Kennedy (grace.lk)

Leave a Comment

ReGen Magazine