Sep 2021 10

News Banner
Following his second departure from Megadeth, bassist Dave Ellefson has announced the formation of a new group featuring Fear Factory drummer Mike Heller, Sponge vocalist Vinnie Dombroski, and guitarist Drew Fortier; with the band known as THE LUCID, the group showcases a sound that draws on the musicians’ collective histories in modern American metal and hard rock, with the “Maggot Wind” single marking the first taste of what the band has in store for the forthcoming self-titled album. Stating that the experience of recording with his new band mates was “a blast” and “refreshing,” Ellefson goes on to say that “There was an effortless synergy that came with creating these songs together, which is always amazing when working with new people.” Produced by Heller and mixed/mastered by Lasse Lammert, THE LUCID will be released on October 15 via SpoilerHead Records, with pre-orders now available via Bandcamp in digital, CD, and vinyl formats.


Besides THE LUCID, Ellefson has been involved in numerous other creative ventures, with No Cover marking his sophomore solo outing, released on November 20; a collection of cover songs, the album was notable for the “Auf Wiedersehen” single, a cover of the Cheap Trick classic, featuring MINISTRY’s Al Jourgensen. As well, Ellefson launched his EMP Label Group imprint, releasing music from bands like Doyle (headed by The Misfits’ Doyle Wolfgang von Frankenstein), A Killer’s Confession (fronted by REVillusion collaborator and ex-Mushroomhead vocalist Waylon Reavis), the late Chuck Mosley (Primitive Race, ex-Faith No More), Hail Sagan, and Skum Love. In 2019, he also launched Ellefson Films with his EMP business partner Thöm Häzäert, producing the award-winning found footage horror feature Dwellers, written, directed by, and starring Drew Fortier; the movie is scheduled for release on Blu-Ray and digital streaming services on October 12. The two musicians have also collaborated on the fiction thriller Rock Star Hitman, with THE LUCID’s debut album loosely tied to the book’s narrative. Heller appears on the latest Fear Factory album, Aggression Continuum, released on June 18 via Nuclear Blast, while Dombrowski can be heard on Sponge’s Lavatorium, released on August 6 via Cleopatra Records. Fortier is best known for his work with bands like Bang Tango, Zen From Mars also featuring Heller), and was guitarist for Chuck Mosley.


Website, Facebook, Twitter, Bandcamp, YouTube
Website, Facebook, SoundCloud, Bandcamp, YouTube
EMP Label Group
Website, Facebook, Twitter, YouTube
Website, Facebook
Ellefson Films
Drew Fortier
Website, Facebook, Twitter, YouTube
Website, Facebook, Twitter, SoundCloud, YouTube
Fear Factory
Website, Facebook, Twitter, SoundCloud, YouTube
Mike Heller
Facebook, Twitter
Ilker Yücel (Ilker81x)

Leave a Comment

ReGen Magazine