Feb 2014 04

The Peoples Republic of Europe - Feel the PowerThe Peoples Republic of Europe
Category: Rhythmic Noise
Album: Feel the Power
Stars: 3
Blurb: A reaction to the NSA’s increasingly oppressive agenda that borders on repetition, but still manages to coalesce into soothing ambience and mild acerbic noise elements for an overall justifiable investment.


With a flooded market such as power and rhythmic noise, it’s nothing short of amazing that the floor-wrecking cacophony channeled by The Peoples Republic of Europe has been able to stand out for nearly the past 14 years. While sometimes being criticized as being sonically stagnant as of late, this Dutch outfit’s politically driven, not-for-the-faint-of-heart vehicle has generated some of the most abrasive, infectious, and confrontational textures offered by its ilk. Though still managing to embrace some of those elements, Feel the Power sees the effort slightly subduing its harsh aesthetic in favor of a more accessible form that is, oddly enough, a response to the world’s diminished freedoms by the powers that be.

“We need to establish control over the masses” and other similarly oppressive mandates divulged by the robotic tyrant in “Asylum” immediately sets the pace and could easily be the most fitting preface to noise music ever. From the cosmic ambience amid the bouncing bass in “After Dark” to the menacing offbeat rhythm in “King of the Flies” to the more cliché yet mercurial power noise tracks like “Motorik” and “Warrior,” there is an evident well constructed flow throughout. The muted and spacey “Energy” and odd mechanical sounds striving to a crunchy beat evocative of a decrepit factory in “Proximity” both have intriguing nuances, but similar to some of the latter tracks, they aren’t exactly demanding a listen off the dance floor.

As with most TPRoE albums, Feel the Power is more of the same from an act that has seemed to reach its potential or is just taking baby steps towards something more revolutionary in its realm; it’s difficult to tell. Either way, the latest work by these noise veterans is definitely not without its obvious merits that will most likely appease longtime fans and, more than anything, surely be accessible enough to entice the newcomers.
Track list:

  1. Asylum
  2. After Dark
  3. Feel the Power
  4. Motorik
  5. King of the Flies
  6. Warrior
  7. Energy
  8. Techna Zina
  9. Proximity
  10. The Eye

The Peoples Republic of Europe Website http://www.tproe.com
The Peoples Republic of Europe Facebook https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Peoples-Republic-of-Europe/131416506879048
The Peoples Republic of Europe Twitter https://twitter.com/tproe
The Peoples Republic of Europe Bandcamp http://thepeoplesrepublicofeurope.bandcamp.com
New Darkness Recordings Website http://www.newdarkness.host.sk
New Darkness Recordings Facebook https://www.facebook.com/NewDarknessRecordings
New Darkness Recordings SoundCloud https://soundcloud.com/newdarknessrecordings
Purchase at:
Amazon MP3
Zachary Locke (ZLocke)

Leave a Comment


Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!