Aug 2011 09

Nude - Basic Guerilla Moves
Category: Electronica
Album: Basic Guerilla Moves
Stars: 2.5
Blurb: The absolute antithesis of highbrow electronic music, this bizarre mix is equal parts childish, catchy, and revolting.


Forcibly smashing together mid ‘90s electronica styles, hip-hop, and punk, Basic Guerilla Moves is an extreme oddity. The type of album that at first seems downright unlistenable somehow manages a bizarre and inexplicable charm. At times excessively poppy, and at others unbelievably crude, the album’s contents feel like they were put together by a committee of prepubescent children, but with musical accompaniments composed and arranged by an evil pop genius troll.

Despite the album’s introductory promises of a “high octane kick your big ass gig,” it starts off with almost comically saccharine tracks “Headbite” and “Let Me Go,” which conjure memories of the family friendly musical cover series Kids Bop. Things do get a little more serious with “Upbeatrealizm,” a solid gem of a drum & bass track that suffers from some occasional poor choices in vocal modification. The maturity level quickly falls again with the cheesy diva vocals of the following track, “Panicattak” and shows our first sign of the exceptionally childish and “dirty” rhymes that become prevalent later. “Showtime” is probably the catchiest and most fun track of the album, and though still overwhelmingly poppy, has enough of an edge for it to avoid much of the album’s juvenile feel. Things take yet another drastic turn when the music suddenly turns excessively crude in the track “All We Want Is,” which features gems like “I want to rock your body right; till the juice comes out your tights” and “Come on everybody and sing along; come up to the stage and suck on my dong.” Things become a bit more respectable and classy with “A Little Excitement,” but unfortunately, the track seems to borrow heavily from an old Orbital song. Nude also presents a very creative and well done cover of The Human League’s “Being Boiled,” which is arguably more enjoyable than the original and better highlights the song’s lyrical content.

Despite everything that’s just so very wrong about this album, it’s still very difficult to absolutely dismiss it as fluff trash. The album largely seems to be aiming for an Andrew W.K. style feel good party album and certainly succeeds on that level with the juvenile and thuggish mentality pervasive throughout, possibly being just as much a selling point as it is a turnoff. Musically, the beats are fun, exceptionally catchy, and well put together, but the vocal and lyrical components just completely torpedo the album’s credibility. Those who love the energy and swagger of Hadouken!’s Music for an Accelerated Culture will likely find similar things to love in Nude’s work, but ultimately the album comes across as good ideas turned into a frivolous and largely annoying pop fiasco.
Track list:

  1. Intro
  2. Headbite
  3. Let Me Go
  4. Upbeatrealizm
  5. Panicattack
  6. Showtime
  7. Being Boiled
  8. Inside
  9. All We Want Is
  10. Souvenir
  11. A Little Excitement
  12. You Had It Coming
  13. Ruff Rugged + Raw
  14. Here I Come
  15. Outro
  16. Normalee

Nude Website
Nude MySpace
Sabotage-Concept Records Website
Sabotage-Concept Records MySpace
Purchase at:
Amazon CD
Amazon MP3
Trubie Turner (Flexei)

Leave a Comment


Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!