Sep 2011 08

No More - 7 Years - A Compilation 1979/1986
No More
Category: Electronica / Post-Punk
Album: 7 Years – A Compilation 1979/1986
Stars: 3.5
Blurb: Longtime fans and modern post-punk lovers alike will enjoy the agelessness of No More’s 7 Years.


Longtime fans of the German post-punk band No More should be thrilled by 7 Years, featuring songs originally written and released between 1979 and 1986, many of which were unavailable or difficult to find outside of Germany before now. For everyone else, this album will play like a musical time capsule buried by a deranged psychic who just happened to know that one day, about 30 years in the future, young musicians would again press their fingers to keyboards and raise their voices to chant poetry. These 17 tracks will fill any listener with a sense of nostalgia (even those who weren’t yet born when they were written) and wonder at how amazingly well some tunes can age.

No More had some interesting range. At times experimental, poetic, and even spiritual, 7 Years is an intriguing collection featuring a blend of both simple shoegazer-type electronic instrumentals and multi-layered, Eastern-inspired tunes. The vocals are typical of the time; sometimes emotionless, sometimes playful, inspired by Bowie, Brian Eno, and many of the experimental pioneers who came before. The album opens with 1981’s “Suicide Commando,” No More’s biggest hit. A simple tune, all synthesizers, sound effects, and flat vocals, it sounds exactly like the late ‘70s/early ‘80s should. And somehow it has managed to avoid become embarrassingly dated. Perhaps modern music is reverting back to the styles of 30 years ago, or maybe No More was ahead of their time, but many of the songs would sound right at home on track lists of newer groups. There is also a very nice version of The Velvet Underground’s “Waiting for the Man” that could easily stand up with the covers recorded by Bauhaus, Beck, and David Bowie.

Don’t let the age dissuade you. No More’s early work still holds up well. 7 Years is a collection that stands the test of time.
Track list:

  1. Suicide Commando
  2. Dim the Lights
  3. I Still Bear the Scars
  4. Golden Games
  5. Waiting for the Man
  6. Theme for Angels in Big Cities
  7. Do You Dream of Angel in Big Cities
  8. Istanbul
  9. Arabesque
  10. 7 Years
  11. Entree Tunesienne
  12. El Dorado
  13. In the Flesh
  14. Just a Shadow in the Night (Live)
  15. Hysteria (Live)
  16. Suicide Commando (Live)
  17. Salome (Bonus Track)

No More Website
No More MySpace
No More Facebook
Rustblade Website
Rustblade MySpace
Rustblade Facebook
Purchase at…
Amazon CD
Charity VanDeberg (CharityV)

Leave a Comment


Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!