Aug 2011 09

Microwaved - Desperation Upon the Wings of Angels
Category: Industrial
Album: Desperation Upon the Wings of Angels
Stars: 3
Blurb: After years of intense work, Microwaved’s debut album has finally seen the light of day.


Formed in 2002 in Cedar Falls, Iowa by Gabe Wilkinson, Desperation Upon the Wings of Angels is Microwaved’s first collection of music. While in one sense it falls into the category of an album, it’s also very much a compilation of songs, sounds, and ideas that Wilkinson has been experimenting with and perfecting for the better part of a decade. Influenced by older industrial music projects like Ministry and Skinny Puppy, as well as ‘80s pop music and classic rock, Microwaved’s music displays a unique blend of industrial music that could only come out of an isolated community in America’s heartland.

While at times saturated with crunchy guitars and distortion, Desperation… also frequently exudes electronic and dance-oriented material, and a number of instrumental tracks can be found as well. The record features a great amount of variety and diversity. While there is always some level of intensity and energy to the music, the almost soothing atmosphere of the album overall often leads to a record full of a nervously calm tension. As it did take Wilkinson years to pull this record together, it lacks the cohesion and spontaneity of albums that are produced much more quickly. In addition, there are a number of guest musicians on the record as well as considerable differences in some of the effects and instrumentation used, so at times it feels like you’re listening to a completely different band. While certainly not a bad thing in itself, it can be a little jarring.

As Desperation Upon the Wings of Angels is available as a “pay what you want” download, this writer recommends this release for anybody looking to hear something new and a little different in the electro/industrial rock vein.
Track list:

  1. Gave Up
  2. Ass Head Reign
  3. Every Time
  4. Blood
  5. I Can’t Let You Go
  6. Graven Image (featuring Douglas Havlik)
  7. All Out Monsters Attack
  8. Escape
  9. I Ran Through a Flock of Seagulls
  10. I’m On Fire
  11. Number Five (featuring Tyler Crew)
  12. My Own Device
  13. Song Seven
  14. Grave
  15. Worthless

Bonus Videos:

  1. All Out Monsters Attack
  2. Blood
  3. Gave Up

Microwaved MySpace
Microwaved BandCamp
Brian Backlash (BrianBacklash)

Leave a Comment


Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!