Jan 2015 25

My Life with the Thrill Kill Kult - Spooky TricksMy Life with the Thrill Kill Kult
Category: Industrial
Album: Spooky Tricks
Stars: 4
Blurb: Sexy, sultry, sleazy; Spooky Tricks proves that My Life with the Thrill Kill Kult is going stronger than ever.


My Life with the Thrill Kill Kult is a band that needs no introduction. The band’s signature combination of funky basslines, disco beats, and sexually charged vocals are instantly recognizable and unique in the industrial scene. Later releases from the band have been met with polarizing responses from fans, with some embracing the band’s shift toward a stranger amalgamation of go-go, disco and various other genres. Spooky Tricks combines the best of both worlds in one of the tightest and most cohesive releases the band has put out in years. The burning question on this reviewer’s mind is, Thrill Kill Kult, where have you been all my life?

“If I give you some money, will you come to my room?” Groovie Mann asks bluntly in the opening track, “Room on the Moon.” Between the hypnotic synths and the inclusion of more theatrical elements such as timpani, the opening song is reminiscent of being at a crowded high end sex club. Mann’s vocal delivery is sleazy, shady, and sounds like you might catch something from it if you listen too closely. This tone and atmosphere is carried throughout the album, giving the overall product a strong cohesion and theme that holds together nicely. Thrill Kill Kult has always been interested in exploring hedonism, sex, drugs, and the seedy underbelly that’s inevitably waiting beyond glitz and the glamor, and this album is no exception. “Monti Karlo” is an unabashed disco tune, replete with a horn section that is very reminiscent of the band’s more recent releases. The bassline is pure, unmistakable TKK – loud, fast, and funky. This is followed by “Bella Pirhana,” a mid-tempo synth soaked piece that will have listeners bobbing their heads to the beat. It even samples a bit from “Delicate Terror” off of the album 13 Above the Night, which makes for a pleasant surprise to those who notice. The sequencing and sound design on Spooky Tricks is impeccable, and the songs are dynamic and interesting to listen to – the fact that each track has moody, stripped down pieces as well as loud crescendos with multiple instruments layered upon one another shows a surprising amount of nuance that is refreshing to listen to.

This album is the best work released by Thrill Kill Kult in quite some time. It’s catchy, fun, dirty, and there’s absolutely no reason to miss out on it. Whether you are a fan of the earlier, WaxTrax! era material or the later disco-centric albums, there’s undoubtedly enough of both on here to entice you. Simply put, My Life with the Thrill Kill Kult delivers on Spooky Tricks in a big, big way.
Track list:

  1. Room on the Moon
  2. Spooky Tricks
  3. Hell Kat Klub
  4. Neon Diva
  5. The Way We Live Now
  6. Monti Karlo
  7. Bella Piranha
  8. Dope Freak
  9. Diamonde Doll
  10. Sex Witch
  11. The Strange Ones
  12. Moon Shroom Remix

My Life with the Thrill Kill Kult Website http://mylifewiththethrillkillkult.com
My Life with the Thrill Kill Kult MySpace http://www.myspace.com/mylifewiththetkk
My Life with the Thrill Kill Kult Facebook https://www.facebook.com/thrillkillkult
My Life with the Thrill Kill Kult Twitter http://twitter.com/thrillkillkult
My Life with the Thrill Kill Kult ReverbNation http://www.reverbnation.com/mylifewiththethrillkillkult
Sleazebox Records Facebook https://www.facebook.com/sleazeboxrecords
Sleazebox Records Twitter https://twitter.com/SleazeBoxMusic
Purchase at:
Amazon MP3
Donald Beach (DXNero)

Leave a Comment


Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!