Aug 2012 27

FGFC820 - Homeland InsecurityFGFC820
Category: EBM / Electro
Album: Homeland Insecurity
Stars: 4
Blurb: Sound and fury signifying pure aggro/electro rage against injustice and hypocrisy, FGFC820’s latest album is pure harsh EBM with a message worth listening to.


Given their tenure as prominent DJs in the New York underground club scene, Rexx Arkana and Dräcos certainly should know how to deliver a hard-hitting dance floor ready brand of harsh electro. With FGFC820, the duo has since 2004 combined their skills with a variety of influences ranging from gabber to old school industrial, blasting out a vicious mix of incendiary synth leads with epic atmosphere, pounding club beats, and seething vocals raging about the current state of American and global politics in the post-9/11 world. With the band’s latest album, Homeland Insecurity, FGFC820 makes a declarative statement against the hypocrisy of a failing system that has led to only death without solutions.

With the opening tracks “Call to Glory” and “Insurrection,” the lyrics and the samples utilized make FGFC820’s message on Homeland Insecurity quite clear, speaking out against the willingness of a supposedly democratic system to subjugate its principles and citizens in the name of protection, “to keep you safe from harm.” Other tracks like “Legion” and “Revolt Resist” reinforce the band’s stance in support of the troops, with the latter track being especially noteworthy for its straightforward techno pulse, less distorted than usual for FGFC820, but making for one of the catchier tracks on the album with a simple but enticing lead melody. Similarly, “Relapse” moves at a somber tempo of metallic beats and a repeating bass line akin to old school EBM if not for the vocals, which throughout the album are augmented by a guttural deathlike growl, especially prominent in the chorus to the stomping “In Country.” Taking things further into new territory for the band, “Lost” begins with a shimmering piano/synth line that steadily builds into a pulsating EBM lead that is sure to get stuck in listeners’ heads, while “Love Until Death” bears the cadence of a ballad, slowly trudging with a mournful ambience offset by the scathing vocals. Also noteworthy are the “Resolution” interludes, a continuing motif throughout FGFC820’s discography, with number 10 marching with a subsonic bass pulse atop a popping beat, number 11 slowing the pace down with a steely warbling underscoring swells of spacey ambience, and number 12 taking on a trancelike vibe that reminds this writer of a slightly grittier version of Front 242’s P.U.L.S.E. era.

If the 14 tracks of Homeland Insecurity weren’t enough to fill your cup, special editions come with 15 remixes from fellow heavy hitters in the harsh EBM and aggro/electro scene. With such names as Aslan Faction, Leæther Strip, and [:SITD:], there’s certainly no question as to what the remix companion offers, although there are some notable entries. Grendel slows the pace of “Revolt Resist” and emphasizes a vocoder accompaniment to enhance the decrepit melodies, as Vigilante’s inclusion of guitars and breakneck speed on “Call to Glory” makes it a particularly raucous version that will please fans of both bands. The Winterkrieg remix of “Lost” possesses some excellent glitch effects on the vocals, while in typical iVardensphere fashion, the remix of “Legion” features some excellent militaristic percussion and epic atmospheres befitting an overture to a battle hymn.

All in all, Homeland Insecurity is not drastically different from past FGFC820 releases; rather, it serves to reinforce the band’s musical and lyrical resolve and continues to mark them as one of the more substantive entities in harsh EBM. Never straying too far from the elements that define them yet incorporating new sounds little by little, FGFC820 remains a guiding light for those who like their electro angry and meaningful.
Track list:
Disc 1

  1. Call to Glory
  2. Insurrection
  3. Legion
  4. Resolution 10
  5. Revolt Resist
  6. Lost
  7. Crush
  8. Resolution 11
  9. Love Until Death
  10. Relapse
  11. Resolution 12
  12. In Country
  13. Sound & Fury
  14. Doctrine

Disc 2

  1. Crush (Leæther Strip Remix)
  2. Doctrine (Hex Cycle Mix by Kevorkian Death Cycle)
  3. Call to Glory (Vigilante Remix)
  4. Lost (Winterkrieg Remix)
  5. Legion (World at War Mix by Aslan Faction)
  6. Revolt Resist (Second Amendment Mix by Grendel)
  7. Crush ([:SITD:] Remix)
  8. Doctrine ([X]-RX Remix)
  9. Lost (Get Lost Mix by Dirty Bird 13)
  10. Relapse (Hate Dept. Remix)
  11. Call to Glory (Call to Stomp Mix by FabrikC)
  12. Doctrine (BlakOpz Remix)
  13. Sound & Fury (Vault-113 Remix)
  14. Legion (iVardensphere Remix)
  15. Relapse (Panic Lift Remix)

FGFC820 Website
FGFC820 Facebook
COP International Website
COP International MySpace
COP International Facebook
COP International Twitter
NoiTekk Website
NoiTekk Facebook
NoiTekk Twitter
Purchase at:
Amazon CD
Amazon MP3
Ilker Yücel (Ilker81x)

Leave a Comment


Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!