Dec 2014 01

Die So Fluid - The Opposites of LightDie So Fluid
Category: Rock / Goth
Album: The Opposites of Light
Stars: 4
Blurb: Moving into a new level of musicianship and experimentation, Die So Fluid’s fourth album proves to be the band’s most accomplished and most adventurous outing yet.


Transcending the conventions of hard rock and alternative metal, the UK power trio of Die So Fluid has established a sound and image that evokes the dark themes of post-punk and goth with a decidedly aggressive and singularly melodic spin. As the band’s first totally self-produced effort, The Opposites of Light not only reaffirms the band’s strengths, but also pulls a few surprise punches to result in Die So Fluid’s most adventurous and accomplished album.

Heavy as ever on the interplay of powerful riffs and melodies, The Opposites of Light begins rather virulently with “Nightmares,” a track that sets the stage for the album’s diverse array of moods and styles. Beginning with the thrust of vicious riffs and Grog Lisee’s voice both smooth as velvet and rough as nails, the song starts off with a heightened sense of desperation that gradually gives way to lush layers of guitars and vocals making for a marvelous melodic tapestry. The album is apparently divided into two halves – Shakura and Pah, the solar and lunar deities of the Pawnee tribe – with the first half dominated by the band’s more well established hard rock sound. A song like “Anubis” evokes the progressive spirit of Deftones with its atmospheric guitars and Lisee’s soaring voice, while “Crime Scene” aims for the jugular with seething energy offset only by the almost angelic chorus of vocal harmonies. Similarly, songs like “Carnival” and “You Suffocate We All Suffer” are driven by muscular rock power and in-your-face attitude, while “Black Blizzard” stands out with its backdrop of fragrant strings to complement the band’s signature bite.

The second, slower half of the album begins with the shimmering and slightly atonal arpeggios of modest melodies of “The World Opposite,” though the song certainly is not lacking in any of the punch exhibited by the preceding tracks. The same can be said for “Landslides,” as Drew Richards creates a variety of harmonious orchestrations with his guitar atop Al Fletcher’s percussive drive, Lisee’s voice and bass flowing hauntingly to augment the song’s mystical qualities. Similarly, “Echo of a Lie” evokes a smoky and jazzy quality with its melancholy ambience, while “Dream Sequence” begins ominously with a dissonant pulse that slowly reveals twinkling guitar swells and Grog’s emotive vocals. “The Road to San Sebastian” moves at a languid pace that allows the song’s bleak romanticism shine like the soundtrack to a classic drama and the clean and bluesy tones of “Spark” close out the album in a manner strangely reminiscent of Mark Knopfler and Dire Straits.

Up until now, Die So Fluid had proven itself to be an eminently capable power rock trio; with The Opposites of Light, the band successfully moves into a new level of musicianship and experimentation without missing any of the forceful energy that drove past albums. From start to finish, Die So Fluid’s fourth album is a darkly and immensely engaging musical journey, and one that signals Die So Fluid as one of today’s best working acts, destined for bigger and better things to come.
Track list:

  1. Nightmares
  2. Comets
  3. Black Blizzard
  4. Anubis
  5. Carnival
  6. You Suffocate We All Suffer
  7. Crime
  8. Scene
  9. Transition
  10. The World Opposite
  11. Echo of a Lie
  12. Violent Delights
  13. Falcons
  14. Dream Sequence
  15. Landslides
  16. The Road to San Sebastian
  17. Spark

Die So Fluid Website
Die So Fluid MySpace
Die So Fluid Facebook
Die So Fluid Twitter
Die So Fluid Bandcamp
Purchase at:
Amazon CD
Amazon MP3
Ilker Yücel (Ilker81x)

Leave a Comment


Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!