Aug 2011 09

Daft Punk - Tron: Legacy (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)
Daft Punk
Category: Electronica
Album: Tron: Legacy (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)
Stars: 5
Blurb: Daft Punk reinvents the concept of the movie score and produces their most epic work to date.


For the better part of the last 15 years, Daft Punk has been at the forefront of mainstream house/techno music. Initially thought to be just another faceless one hit wonder of the late ‘90s electronica movement, their release of 2001’s Discovery catapulted them into full Top 40 success. The formula they used was simple: take music and vocal samples, mix with old-school synths, lather, rinse, repeat. But as the duo continued, they managed to find their own sound among the hundreds of similar acts doing the exact same routine. Daft Punk created retro-futuristic music that sounded like it was from the past but with its mindset in the future, like watching old films about what people imagine the future as being like (i.e. 2001: A Space Odyssey). When the rumors of Daft Punk doing the score for Tron: Legacy began in the summer of 2010, many people were skeptical. Could they make the transition from radio friendly house music to the controlled sound of an orchestral score? Would they be able to blend the genres together in a cohesive way?

The short answer is yes, but what was unexpected was that the end result is potentially one of the greatest movie scores of all time. The album, even without seeing the film, gave the sense of the emotion of the scenes the music was to be the background for. The music flows with dynamic power; listening takes you to the edge of soul then pulls you back, only to pusher farther just moments later. This is heard in tracks like “Recognizer” and “The Game Has Changed,” where the buildup reaches a fever pitch, then pulls back just long enough for your mind to catch its breath before hitting full force again. When others have tried to use classical and techno for a movie score (i.e. Oakenfold’s soundtrack for the movie Swordfish), the two genres tend to overlap on each other and become muddled. Daft Punk manages to avoid this, having the tracks come off as elegant in how they are blended. But the real beauty of the soundtrack is presented within the film. The movie takes place in a computer generated world; however, the computer was built in the ‘80s, so while everything looks very futuristic (black and neon are the predominate colors of everything in the film), it also feels stuck in the past. This is where Daft Punk’s use of vintage synths really works its magic. Tracks like “End of Line” and “Derezzed” are pure ‘80s synth at their best, with “End of Line” even incorporating 8-bit sounds.

The mark of a great movie soundtrack is one where you cannot imagine the film without the music, and this album has the potential to be one of those soundtracks. Even outside of the realm of movie scores, this should also be considered Daft Punk’s best record to date. The maturity of the sound and production, the perfect ebb and flow of the progressions, and the sheer magnitude of intensity make this a truly legendary album.
Track list:

  1. Overture
  2. The Grid
  3. The Son of Flynn
  4. Recognizer
  5. Armory
  6. Arena
  7. Rinzler
  8. The Game Has Changed
  9. Outlands
  10. Adagio for Tron
  11. Nocturne
  12. End of Line
  13. Derezzed
  14. Fall
  15. Solar Sailer
  16. Rectifier
  17. Disc Wars
  18. C.L.U.
  19. Arrival
  20. Flynn Lives
  21. Tron: Legacy (End Titles)
  22. Finale

Daft Punk Website
Daft Punk MySpace
Tron: Legacy Website
Tron: Legacy Facebook
Tron: Legacy Twitter
Tron: Legacy Soundtrack Website
Walt Disney Records Website
Purchase at:
Amazon CD
Amazon MP3
Amazon Vinyl
John Galope (SilentBKS)

Leave a Comment


Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!