Jun 2011 20

Cover Image
Category: Industrial / Soundtrack
Album: Unbound Saga: Official Game Soundtrack
Stars: 3.5
Blurb: An aggressive soundtrack to an aggressive video game, Unbound Saga presents a furious helping of pulse-pounding machine rock.


One might think that while it difficult for an underground artist or label to find an audience, there is still the option for them to license their work to various companies for various products and purposes. And yet, it almost seems like so few of them actually do so… or, at least, manage to do so successfully. Since the early ‘90s, Chicago’s Cracknation has teetered on the edge of recognition and acceptance, both in the mainstream and in the underground, leading to its standing not just as a record imprint but as a production house to several artists licensing out various styles of music for several years. The label’s latest release, Unbound Saga presents an official soundtrack to Vogster Entertainment’s arcade fighter comic-style game of the same name. Not unlike the game, the music on this album runs a gamut of high energy industrial and electronic tracks; from the glitch-guitar onslaught of the opener, “Madmaker,” to the vicious drum & bass of “The Drowning,” to the big beat electro of “The Radiant One” and “Power Transfer.” As to be expected, there is a stylistic resemblance to Cracknation flagship acts Acumen Nation and DJ? Acucrack, which should please longtime fans of both bands despite the lack of composer Jason Novak’s signature rasp and rage on the vocals. Indeed, certain tracks even bear a slight similarity to past songs as a particular synth sample on “Positron” is reminiscent of sounds heard on “Gun Lover” while “Body Parts” bears a striking resemblance to “200 Bodies Per Minute.” Typical of latter day Cracknation releases, though uncharacteristic for the average video game soundtrack, is that each track segues seamlessly into the next to create the impression of a spastic DJ mix. While this adds to the impressions of Unbound Saga as a conceptual musical experience, there is no discernible loop quality that would normally occur in the music to necessitate extended gameplay. Still, this is hardly a detriment to the enjoyment of the album on its own merits, with the remix of the theme song closing things out on an epic note of symphonic industrial rock majesty. With music this energetic and aggressive, it undoubtedly plays as perfect complement to the game for which it underscores; as well, it presents to fans of Cracknation an album of blistering machine rock and electronica sure to send them into furious spasms.
Track list:

  1. Madmaker
  2. Stealth Under Fire
  3. Body Parts
  4. Power Transfer
  5. The Drowning
  6. Slowdogs
  7. Train to Hell
  8. Release Me
  9. The Radiant One
  10. Ultimaker
  11. Cut a Swath
  12. Urban Wilding
  13. Positron
  14. Deadmaker
  15. Unbound Saga Theme (Remix)

Cracknation Website http://www.cracknation.com
Cracknation MySpace http://www.myspace.com/cracknationrecords
Cracknation Facebook http://www.facebook.com/pages/Cracknation/285988987668
Purchase at:
Amazon CD
Amazon MP3
Ilker Yücel (Ilker81x)

Leave a Comment


Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!