Jun 2011 20

Cover Image
Covenant (feat. Necro Facility)
Category: EBM / Electro-pop
Album: Lightbringer (Single)
Stars: 3
Blurb: Covenant is back with a new member and new dance tunes that will make you forget they ever went away.


Even after two-and-a-half decades and the departure of founding member Clas Nachmanson and the addition of Haujobb’s Daniel Myer to the lineup, Sweden’s Covenant shows every indication of being in this for the long haul. It has been an excruciating four years between 2006’s Skyshaper and the Lightbringer single, but fans should be pleased with the direction Covenant is taking.

There are three songs on the seven-track EP, including five mixes of the title track. “Lightbringer,” the result of collaboration with fellow Swedes Necro Facility, is a mid-tempo dance tune heavy on the electro-pop and featuring a nice juxtaposition of robotic vocals and Eskil Simonsson’s smooth lead vocals. However, the original version feels like it wants to be a bit more intense – that’s where the remixes come in. The radio edit leads with Simonsson’s vocals, turns up the bass, and downplays the pop keyboards. The standout Daniel Myer mix darkens the feel of the song even more, turning the vocals nearly sinister and breaking up the steady rhythm with his mad DJ skills, volume variation, and focus on different instruments throughout the track. There’s a “Speedrun” mix that is… well, faster. And there is a mix by band member Joakim Montelius that is slow and dirty, with a lot of distracting vibrating distortion; the least listenable of the remixes in the collection.

The final two songs on the EP are “The Beauty and the Grace” and “Never Seems to End.” The former, written by Daniel Myer, is a dance tune with the heart of a ballad – lovely slow vocals over very prominent percussion, the brain will think it’s a slow song but the body will want to move. “Never Seems to End,” by Simonsson and Montelius, is an unrushed anthem to slowness, broken up around the four minute mark by some ear-confusing noise like that of an industrial fan winding down.

Whether an accurate representation of Covenant’s new direction or just some fun pieces to whet the appetite, the long-awaited Lightbringer single is a must-have for fans and a good introduction for new listeners.
Track list:

  1. Lightbringer
  2. Lightbringer (Radio Edit)
  3. Lightbringer (DM Remix)
  4. The Beauty and the Grace (Remix)
  5. Lightbringer (Speedrun)
  6. Lightbringer (JM Remix)
  7. Never Seems To End (Unreleased)

Covenant Website http://www.covenant.se
Covenant MySpace http://www.myspace.com/covenant
Covenant Facebook http://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Covenant-OFFICIAL/156626197713557
Necro Facility MySpace http://www.myspace.com/necrofacility
Necro Facility Facebook http://www.facebook.com/pages/Necro-Facility/329096005686
Metropolis Records Website http://www.metropolis-records.com
Metropolis Records MySpace http://www.myspace.com/metropolisrecords
Progression Productions Website http://www.progress-productions.com
Purchase at:
Amazon CD
Amazon MP3
Charity VanDeberg (CharityV)

Leave a Comment


Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!