Oct 2012 28

Chrysalide - Don't be Scared, It's About LifeChrysalide
Category: Noise / Industrial
Album: Don’t be Scared, It’s About Life
Stars: 1.5
Blurb: Drawing too heavily on its influences with only the slightest glimmers of individual identity, this French trio sets out to offend and traumatize you.


While it’s a common story for many, it’s quite an accomplishment when any band releases an album on its own and manages to gain enough attention and notoriety to be signed by a label and have that album be rereleased in a more professional capacity. However, upon listening to Don’t be Scared, It’s About Life, the debut album from French cyberpunk trio Chrysalide, this writer has to wonder just what was so impressive to warrant such a signing. The album is brutal and intense, and for that the band deserves much credit for creating a singularly consistent sound – a vicious array of industrial and electronic noise that leaves little room for notions of standard musicality.

Above all, Chrysalide’s approach is very much based on traumatizing the listener with caustic sound comprised of various disparate elements. A good example of this is “I Do Not Divert Eyes” with its combination of chunky guitars evocative of extreme metal, but chopped up and stuttered with the now familiar tropes of modern dubstep, complete with the wobbly bass lines. It’s rather reminiscent of bands like The Browning or Exageist while the gabber-like assault of “Freak Out” lives up to its title and comes across as a lost Atari Teenage Riot track. And then you have the songs that betray Chrysalide’s all-too-obvious Skinny Puppy influence, as the mournful piano and foreboding atmosphere so akin to cEvin Key with the atonal, sometimes melodic, but very creepy vocals so similar to Nivek Ogre give “Fucking Doubt” a feel that will take listeners back to the Too Dark Park or Last Rites era. Similarly, “Not My World” with its aggressively danceable rhythms and stutter/rap style vocal that is taken right out of the playbook of a latter day album like Mythmaker, and the equally rhythmic and scathing “We Are Food for Worms” simply make Chrysalide sound too much like a Skinny Puppy rip-off.

All of this is not to say that the band is not capable of showcasing a good sense of its own musical identity, with “2010” once again incorporating dubstep textures, but this time meshed with some sinister pianos and a harsh atmosphere, and “Gemini” presents a blistering display of IDM beats and organs that eventually give rise to a chaotic breakdown of distorted sound. “LoveTape” deserves credit as an actually enjoyable ambient melody with the sound of a film reel running throughout, but this is where the album’s high points end, with “Lizzie and the Charming Prince” being a particularly cringe worthy track with vocals that sound like a poor man’s version of KoRn’s Jonathan Davis, while the ending cover of Pink Floyd’s “Another Brick in the Wall” is simply terrible. Composed of various samples from the trailer for the film version of The Wall, along with bits from the original song(s), Chrysalide simply can’t help but to destroy the song and send it spiraling into sonic decay and agony.

To hear Don’t be Scared, It’s About Life, it would be easy to assume that Chrysalide must put on one hell of a live performance; no doubt some form of audiovisual chaos along the lines of Terrorfakt if joined onstage by Slayer. The music, if it can be called such, is clearly an acquired taste suitable for a very specific audience, making the prospect for mass consumption all but impossible. Not that there’s anything wrong with catering to a particular market, and Chrysalide clearly thrives on aesthetic anarchy, much in the way that early pioneers like Throbbing Gristle did. Still, one has to wonder as to whether Chrysalide can achieve such an offensive goal on its own merits rather than skimping off the backs of those that preceded them.
Track list:

  1. Who’s Still Alive
  2. Traders Must Die
  3. Cybernetic Babies
  4. I Do Not Divert Eyes
  5. Anger is a Show
  6. Fucking Doubt
  7. Let the Bombs Fall
  8. Let’s Talk About This During Dinner
  9. Lizzie and the Charming Prince
  10. Not My World
  11. Give Me Something Stronger
  12. The Last Candle
  13. Gemini
  14. They Won’t Get Us
  15. 2010
  16. LoveTape
  17. Rest in Silence My Friend
  18. All Guilty
  19. Freak Out
  20. Lizzie in Toxicland
  21. We Are Food for Worms
  22. Another Brick in the Wall (Traumanoize)

Chrysalide Website http://www.noize-guerilla.org
Chrysalide MySpace http://www.myspace.com/chrysalideaudiotrauma#!
Chrysalide Facebook https://www.facebook.com/chrysalide.audiotrauma
Chrysalide Twitter https://twitter.com/noize_guerilla
Chrysalide ReverbNation http://www.reverbnation.com/chrysalide
Artoffact Records Website http://www.artoffact.com
Artoffact Records MySpace http://www.myspace.com/artoffactrecords
Artoffact Records Facebook https://www.facebook.com/artoffact
Artoffact Records Twitter http://www.twitter.com/artoffact
Audiotrauma Website http://www.audiotrauma.org
Purchase at:
Amazon CD
Amazon MP3
Ilker Yücel (Ilker81x)


  1. cXdbXsn says:

    Are you kidding me? In a scene that has been vomiting the bile of its former self for over 2 decades you are going to slam a record for being UNORIGINAL??? This record gave me hope that so called industrial music is something I can enjoy again. I hope that your readers do a little research of their own, as this record deserves more credit than this reviewer gives it.

    • Ilker Yücel says:

      Granted, the scene is full of regurgitation… that’s not in dispute. And again, there were some really good tracks on this.
      When it comes to ReViews, it’s up to the taste of the individual writer. While I enjoy aggression and noise, I’d also like to think that some artists can do something with it to make a stamp of their own. This band didn’t do that for me- only on a couple of tracks did I feel they managed an identity that was its own. The rest just sounded too much like they were trying to be someone else.
      But that’s just me, my opinion, and I encourage people to make up their own minds.
      Thanks for the comment, sir.

  2. DVDA says:

    Glad I’m not the only one who was underwhelmed by this album. I don’t get all the adoration over them whatsoever.

    • Ilker Yücel says:

      I can understand why it would be adored. It’s angry, noisy, uncompromising, and as I said in the ReView, I’m sure the band puts on an amazing live show, so I could understand from that angle. But hey, everybody has his/her personal taste.
      But thank you for the comment.

Leave a Comment


Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!