Jun 2011 16

Cover Image
Beati Mortui
Category: Industrial / Terror EBM
Album: Let the Funeral Begin
Stars: 3.5
Blurb: Beati Mortui’s second album is a solid release for any fan of harsh EBM and industrial dance music.


Beati Mortui is a newer band from Hellsinki, Finland that specializes in aggressive, powerful industrial dance music. Their second album Let the Funeral Begin is a double disc release that features a number of remixes from well known European artists. Formed in 2005, Beati Mortui consists of Maria on vocals with Sami and Jarno on instrumentation. Shortly after the release of their first record, All But Dreams Will Die, they performed at the Wave Gotik Treffen festival in Germany, then embarked on a European tour in support of German industrial veterans Das Ich.

Let the Funeral Begin includes a number of danceable, high energy tracks that are perfect for the dance floor club setting. “Let the Funeral Begin” and “Soul Reaper (V2)” are some of the album’s more memorable tracks, blending harsh EBM with smooth, feminine vocals to produce a fun vitality many will likely find enjoyable.

Disc two offers a selection of remixes of four of the album’s tracks. “Vision of Hell,” “Let the Funeral Begin,” “Prey,” and “Soulreaper,” each get the multi-remix treatment from a variety of different artists. While Beati Mortui is very stylistically similar to many of the artists remixing their work, there is enough of a difference to really feel each band’s distinctive mark upon the remix. The versions from Suicide Commando and Overflow are easily the best of the bunch, as they created versions that truly deviate from the source work yet still retain the spirit of those tracks. While the different versions presented here are enjoyable, they aren’t numerable or strong enough to stand on their own. There is a little too much repetition here, but as a bonus, they make a positive addition to the original album.

While not the most original release to hit the shelves (or websites, if you prefer) in recent times, Let the Funeral Begin is still a strong and passionate album from a band on a steady rise that we can be guaranteed to be hearing more of in the years to come.
Track list:
Disc 1

  1. Painting… (Intro)
  2. Vision of Hell
  3. Prey (V2)
  4. Let the Funeral Begin
  5. Deathrow (featuring B. Kramm)
  6. Sanctimonious
  7. Soulreaper (V2)
  8. All is Good (The Demon)
  9. Touch Me Not
  10. Alone
  11. Musta Surma
  12. …Obsequiae (Outro)

Disc 2

  1. Vision of Hell (Remix by Suicide Commando)
  2. Vision of Hell (Remix by C-Lekktor)
  3. Let the Funeral Begin (Remix by Proteus)
  4. Let the Funeral Begin (Remix by Kuroshio)
  5. Let the Funeral Begin (Remix by Centhron)
  6. Prey (Remix by Erilaz)
  7. Prey (Remix by Die Braut)
  8. Prey (Remix by Machine Fark)
  9. Prey (Remix by Eisenfunk)
  10. Soulreaper (Remix by Overflow – 110 Remix)
  11. Soulreaper (Remix by Inline.Sex.Terror)

Beati Mortui Website http://www.beatimortui.com
Beati Mortui MySpace http://www.myspace.com/beatimortui
Beati Mortui Facebook http://www.facebook.com/beatimortuiband
Danse Macabre Group Website http://www.dansemacabre-group.com
Danse Macabre Group MySpace http://www.myspace.com/dansemacabregroup
Purchase at:
Amazon MP3
Brian Backlash (BrianBacklash)

Leave a Comment


Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!