Aug 2011 09

Angelspit - Larva Pupa Tank Coffin
Category: Industrial
Album: Larva Pupa Tank Coffin
Stars: 4.5
Blurb: Angelspit’s 2010 release is an exemplary combination of new material balanced with remixed material.


Angelspit was formed 2004 in Sydney, Australia by core members DestroyX and ZooG. Over the past several years, the band has built a very strong following with a number of solid releases, including 2006’s Krankhaus and 2008’s Blood Death Ivory. Their 2010 release, Larva Pupa Tank Coffin features remixes from their 2009 Metropolis Records debut Hideous and Perfect, which also includes four brand new tracks.

In this day and age, such collections have become almost as numerous and plentiful as original releases, and in this light, it’s easy to become fatigued with the endless interpretations produced from an unfathomable number of different artists. All too often, the remixes themselves are limited in creative scope, simply rehashing the tracks into a style more akin to the one doing the remixing. And in the age of declining physical CD sales, it’s difficult not to dismiss every remix disc or single as simply another way for the band to milk their material for all it’s worth. With Larva Pupa Tank Coffin, at least in this instance, Angelspit has taken this tired, overused formula and released a work that justifiably stands on its own merits.

Each of the remixed versions presented here are excellent new versions of great tracks from Hideous and Perfect. Every one of the songs spins the original in an entirely new light, yet still retains the spirit of the original as well as Angelspit’s trademark sound. While we aren’t treated (or tortured) with anything too esoteric or abstract, the new versions retain the energy and attitude that have made Angelspit a success on the road and on the dance floor. The new tunes, which include “Twenty6hundred,” “Not Born, Hatched,” “Hell Was Made Flesh,” and “Massive,” continue Angelspit’s trend of producing catchy, brutal rhythms that are still infused with an appreciable amount of pop sensibility. Although Angelspit has always had a caustic flair to their work, they’ve always been careful to not get too carried away with reckless abrasion and once again, that’s the case here. They still find ways to create a variety of different sounds, different rhythms, and they haven’t let their sound become stagnant. However, with the recent release of another remix collection with a few new tracks, this year’s Carbon Beauty, one can just hope that Angelspit remembers not to push this format too far and too soon.
Track list:

  1. Sleep Now (Angelspit Remix)
  2. Fink (Noir Du’Soleil Remix)
  3. Twenty6hundred
  4. Ditch the Rest (Angelspit Remix)
  5. Sleep Now (Dave Foreman Remix)
  6. Not Born, Hatched
  7. Ditch the Rest (Cage23 Remix)
  8. Hell Was Made Flesh
  9. Fink (Manipulator Remix)
  10. Massive
  11. Princess Chaos (Angelspit Remix)

Angelspit Website
Angelspit MySpace
Angelspit Facebook
Angelspit ReverbNation
Metropolis Records Website
Metropolis Records MySpace
Purchase at:
Amazon CD
Amazon MP3
Brian Backlash (BrianBacklash)

Leave a Comment


Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!