Dec 2011 28

Andrew Liles - Muldjewangk, Morgawr & Other MonstersAndrew Liles
Category: Ambient / Experimental
Album: Muldjewangk, Morgawr & Other Monsters
Stars: 2
Blurb: Experimental soundscaping at its best… or worst.


Andrew Liles has been making avant-garde, off-beat weirdness since the beginning of the century and can boast at least two releases a year. This kind of output for a sound designer can only imply that either the artist has fully dedicated his day-to-day life to his craft or is simply just pumping out release after release with what he has available. What at first seems like ready-for-film content soon becomes random segments of sound that the listener is forced to try to piece together to create some kind of succession. Those familiar with the genre may find some ease in appreciating the proposed sequence but the charity stops there.

An eclectic assortment of unconventional instrumentation helps color the release with a sense of “what’s next?” and Andrew isn’t bashful about including heavily effected animal noises when he deems appropriate either. There are some interesting moments of didgeridoo use by Matt Taylor that provide an atmospheric escape to the ensuing improbability of the record, and on “Gin Tumbler Landfill,” the violin work is exquisite, as well as the rare appearance of the only accessible electronic beat on the record.

All in all, there are no real remarkable moments on this album and any artistic credibility that is attempted falls short of the intended mark. The result of the amalgamation of all the random musicality, sound design, and generic vocal styling is a non-cohesive smattering of good ideas put together in an incomprehensible fashion. No real mood or atmosphere is created in the 48 minute duration, which makes it hard to imagine sitting down to this release and letting it play from start to finish as a musically appreciative experience. Muldjewangk, Morgawr & Other Monsters would have been more appropriate as a soundtrack for an independent play rather than a recorded release.
Track list:

  1. Tomte (Solitaire)
  2. Swamp Thing (Bloodbath for Bunyip)
  3. Voodoo Zombie Kybrid
  4. Pine Cone Emerald Lights
  5. Meeting Muldjewangk (followfollowfollow)
  6. Soiled Dreams and Disappointment
  7. Gin Tumbler Landfill
  8. Triprasura
  9. Tangie (Solitaire Reprise)

Andrew Liles Website
Andrew Liles MySpace
Andrew Liles Facebook
Andrew Liles Twitter
Tourette Records Website
Tourette Records MySpace
Tourette Records Facebook
Purchase at:
Amazon CD
Denyss McKnight (DMcKnight)

Leave a Comment


Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!