Feb 2012 05

Aesthetic Perfection - All Beauty DestroyedAesthetic Perfection
Category: Industrial / EBM
Album: All Beauty Destroyed
Stars: 3.5
Blurb: Aesthetic Perfection breaks away from the terror EBM pack with a more refined sound with solid results.


Aesthetic Perfection is the main project of Los Angeles based impresario Daniel Graves. Since the release of 2008’s A Violent Emotion, Aesthetic Perfection has become one of the frontrunners of the aggrotech/industrial/EBM scene. Following the terror EBM formula, Graves’s gritty, modulated vocals combined with heavy beats and fast synth lines made him an immediate club favorite. While tailor made for club goers, the music on its own often lacked depth, especially when compared to Graves’ other project, Necessary Response. But with Aesthetic Perfection’s new album All Beauty Destroyed, Graves starts to move away from the standard terror EBM sound. The most noticeable difference is the change in vocal styles; the heavy modulation so prominent in AP’s previous work is cast aside and Graves lets his vocals stand on their own. While he still often sings in a very gritty tone for many of the songs, tracks like “The 11th Hour” and “Hit the Streets” have clean, straightforward vocals that display that he can indeed sing. The music itself is also showing a bit more variety. The song “Motherfucker” has an old school vibe to it reminiscent of early And One, and the track “Under Your Skin” has a slow, deliberate sound bordering on the sensual. Established fans fear not, the album is still chockfull of the club ready tracks you have come to love. Songs like “The Devil’s in the Details,” “Inhuman,” and “Celebrity Sin” are the beat-heavy, dance floor type songs Graves is known for. One could see this album as a as an in-between stage for Aesthetic Perfection. The evolution of the music and the sense of Graves finding his own voice within it are just beginning. But the reliance on standard terror EBM elements is still very present in much of the music, making this record good, but not as great as it could be. But this is a great shift in direction for Graves and this could usher in the era of Aesthetic Perfection becoming one of the top bands in the scene for years to come.
Track list:
Disc 1 (Standard Edition)

  1. A Nice Place to Visit
  2. The Devil’s In the Details
  3. The 11th Hour
  4. Hit the Streets
  5. One and Only
  6. Inhuman
  7. Celebrity Sin
  8. Filthy Design
  9. Motherfucker
  10. Under Your Skin
  11. The Little Death
  12. All Beauty Destroyed

Disc 2 (Limited Edition)

  1. A Nice Place to Visit (B.M.F. Remix by Extinction Front)
  2. A Nice Place to Visit (x-Rx Remix)
  3. A Nice Place to Visit (Caustic Remix)
  4. Hit the Streets (Alter Der Ruine Remix)
  5. The 11th Hour (Hocico Remix)
  6. All Beauty Destroyed (XP8 Remix)

Aesthetic Perfection Website http://www.aesthetic-perfection.net
Aesthetic Perfection MySpace http://www.myspace.com/closetohuman
Aesthetic Perfection Facebook http://www.facebook.com/aestheticperfection
Aesthetic Perfection Twitter http://twitter.com/#!/daniel_graves
Metropolis Records Website http://www.metropolis-records.com
Metropolis Records MySpace http://www.myspace.com/metropolisrecords
Metropolis Records Facebook http://www.facebook.com/MetropolisRecords
Metropolis Records Twitter http://www.twitter.com/metropolisrec
Purchase at:
Amazon CD
Amazon CD (Limited Edition)
Amazon MP3
Amazon MP3 (Limited Edition)
John Galope (SilentBKS)

1 Comment

  1. Damian G. says:

    Albeit to some extent catchy, these new songs from Aesthetic Perfection suffer from simplistic beats and lack of fresh ideas. Less agressive than ‘A Violent Emotion’ and ultimately less memorable- ‘All Beauty Destroyed’ is still a competent, enjoyable if dissapointingly uninspired release.

Leave a Comment


Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!