Apr 2012 02

9th Evolution - The Life Atomic9th Evolution
Category: Industrial
Album: The Life Atomic
Stars: 4
Blurb: A wild mesh of styles that combines to form a giant robot assault of industrial, punk, and hard rock.


An album full of various electronica keys, guitars that are heavy and powerful, bass that sticks in your head long after the songs have ended, and vocals that are vicious, scathing, and melodic, 9th Evolution has created a world of its own with The Life Atomic. Various influences can be heard throughout the album including Marilyn Manson, Nine Inch Nails, Orgy, and Skinny Puppy. The album opens kicking, screaming, and on fire with “Braille,” a song that starts with steady drums that segue into heavy electronica and brash guitars. Immediately following is the title track, which has a catchy bass line, fantastic vocal melody, and beautiful guitars. Standout track “Say Cleanse” is packed with angry vocals and disturbing, powerful lyrics, followed immediately by “Castle Bravo,” which calms things down a tiny bit but still refuses to waiver the unstoppable energy presented on the album. “Dreams of Disintegration” and “Ministry of Misinformation” respectively are two notable tracks with fantastic and, once again, disturbing lyrical displays and heavy and harsh sounds from every instrument present in 9th Evolution’s arsenal. Another notable track, “Ventriloquist Twitch” has very deep bass strings and rapid vocals that lead to the loud and heavy chorus that brings in the guitars and shouting vocals to match, followed by a melodic and hypnotizing breakdown. It’s a well done piece of the song that acts as middle ground to the following return to heaviness. “WTWWW” ends The Life Atomic with the same energy that the album opened with and leaves the listener with a screeching that most likely will haunt you after you’ve been through the controlled chaos that was the album. You may find yourself asking what just happened immediately following its end. 9th Evolution has a lot to say and they know exactly how they want to say it and that’s what makes this album so strong. Nothing seems out of place, no track seems like it could have been omitted, and this album is definitely something that should be heard by fans of any band with a similar style. The melodies are catchy and carry well with the instruments through each song and while the album is a long play with 17 tracks, you’ll be able to put it on and listen through without growing tired of it. If you get the chance, The Life Atomic is an album you should give a listen to.
Track list:

  1. Braille
  2. The Life Atomic
  3. Trails of Red
  4. Say Cleanse
  5. Castle Bravo
  6. Paracelsus’ Alchemy
  7. Karma Smile
  8. Sunshine Revolt
  9. Dreams of Disintegration
  10. Land of Silence
  11. Ministry of Misinformation
  12. Kill the King
  13. Pledge of Allegiance
  14. Greener Pastures
  15. Ventriloquist Twitch
  16. Awakening
  17. WTWWW

9th Evolution MySpace http://www.myspace.com/9thevolution
9th Evolution Facebook http://www.facebook.com/9thevolution
Ovis Terrell Ross (TreverAeonIO)

Leave a Comment


Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!