Sep 2014 03

New Order signs to MuteLegendary new wave group New Order has signed with Mute Records, announcing its next release on the label. Both Mute and New Order are thrilled at the joining, with Mute’s Daniel Miller stating, “This is an exciting new chapter for both Mute and New Order and I feel privileged to be working with artists with such a long, creative and successful history.” He continues, “When the possibility of us working together first came up, I was invited to hear some of the new material and immediately had no doubts whatsoever that Mute would be the right home for New Order. We’ve already had a number of creative conversations, and I am looking towards an exciting future.” New Order is “delighted to be signing to Mute. We couldn’t imagine a better place to be than working with Daniel Miller and his team. Mute has a superb roster of artists and a history that complements our own. In many ways joining the label feels like we are coming home, returning to our independent roots.”
Founded in 1978 by Daniel Miller, Mute has signed and developed an amazing array of innovative artists, including Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, Depeche Mode, Plastikman, and Moby. The current roster includes Goldfrapp, Erasure, Plastikman, Liars, Can, and Cabaret Voltaire, alongside newer signings such as Zola Jesus, Swans, Ben Frost, Big Deal, and Maps.
Forming in 1980 out of the ashes of Manchester post-punk band Joy Division, New Order has released a total of nine studio and two live albums, starting with the debut single “Ceremony” on Factory Records in 1981. 2014 has seen the band play for the Tibet House charity at New York’s Carnegie Hall, curated by Philip Glass. The band will soon return to studio for its newest album.


New Order Website
New Order MySpace
New Order Facebook
New Order Twitter
Mute Records Website
Mute Records MySpace
Mute Records Facebook
Mute Records USA Twitter
Mute Records UK Twitter
Zak Vaudo (Chaostar)

Leave a Comment


Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!