Jan 2016 29

Ennio Morricone signs with Rustblade, releases new horror-themed collectionRenowned score composer Ennio Morricone has signed with Italian label Rustblade to release a new album, titled Paura: A Collection of Scary & Thrilling Soundtracks. Showcasing Morricone’s experimental music for such movies as Dario Argento’s The Cat O’ Nine Tails and Sergio Sollima’s Devil in the Brain among others, this collection will be available in a special edition transparent vinyl limited to 499 copies. Pre-orders are now available via Rustblade for Record Store Day 2016. According to the label, the album “attempts to shine a light on the compositional magic of an undisputed musical genius with a collection of songs appearing for the first time ever on vinyl.”
While perhaps best known for his scores for Sergio Leone (most notably the Dollars trilogy), Morricone has lent his compositional skills to over 500 cinema and television works, including Brian DePalma’s The Untouchables, Pier Paolo Pasolini’s Salò, or the 120 Days of Sodom, John Carpenter’s The Thing, and Wolfgang Petersen’s In the Line of Fire. His music has been sampled or referenced in works by such artists as The Prodigy, Revolting Cocks, Hecate, and The Future Sound of London. His collaboration with Joan Baez, “Here’s to You” from 1971’s Sacco e Vanzetti has ben featured heavily in the Metal Gear Solid video game franchise. Most recently, the 87-year-old composer wrote the score to Quentin Tarantino’s The Hateful Eight, for which he was nominated for an Academy Award. He is currently on his The 60 Years of Music world tour.
In 2015, Rustblade also signed Italian progressive rock and soundtrack acts Goblin and Claudio Simonetti, releasing deluxe editions of soundtracks for Demons and Deep Red.


Ennio Morricone
Website, Facebook, YouTube
Website, MySpace, Facebook, Twitter
Ilker Yücel (Ilker81x)

Leave a Comment


Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!