Aug 2016 12

Electronic Saviors pays tribute to The TransformersIndependent electro/industrial label Distortion Productions has unveiled a new entry in the Electronic Saviors compilation series to aid cancer research, titled Respect the Prime: 1986 Revisited; this marks the series’ first spin-off release, paying tribute to the long-running franchise The Transformers. Focusing on the 1986 animated movie, this compilation features numerous interpretations of tracks from the movie’s synth-laden and hard rock soundtrack, mastered by Eric Oehler of prominent synthpop act and recent Distortion Productions signee Null Device. Such tracks include The Dark Clan’s energetic rendition of the anthemic “Dare” and a gripping electro/rock version of “The Touch” by Xenturion Prime and Truls Haugen – both originally sung by Stan Bush; in addition, Caustic offers an irreverent take on Weird Al Yankovic’s “Dare to be Stupid,” while Deathproof and Red Lokust tackle the Decepticon menace of N.R.G.’s “Instruments of Destruction.” Tracks from Vince DiCola’s progressive synthesized score are also paid tribute by the likes of thoughtForm, Everything Goes Cold, boxed warning, Victor Love, and Galvanax. Other artists featured on the compilation include am.psych, Bella Morte, White Shadow, and Ghostfeeder.
Released on August 12, Respect the Prime is now available via the Distortion Productions Bandcamp, and features cover artwork by IDW Comics artists Casey W. Coller and John-Paul Bove, both noted for their work on the company’s Transformers titles. Proceeds from the compilation will be donated to the cancer research team of Dr. David Medich.


Electronic Saviors
Website, Facebook, Twitter
Distortion Productions
Website, Facebook, Twitter, Bandcamp, YouTube
Ilker Yücel (Ilker81x)

Leave a Comment


Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!