Aug 2015 24

Cold Spring releases original version of COIL albumExperimental label Cold Spring has announced the release of a new COIL album, titled Backwards, in October, 2015. The album features the original versions of tracks recorded by COIL for Nothing Records between 1992 and 1996, preserved and remastered by longtime collaborator Danny Hyde; many of the tracks were later remixed for 2008’s The New Backwards, while several have appeared on various compilations. Backwards was originally to follow COIL’s highly acclaimed Love’s Secret Domain in 1990; of the album, Hyde states, “It is an essential conduit, to understand the journey that was taken.” Backwards will be available in CD and special 2-LP vinyl editions.
Since COIL’s dissolution in 2004 following the death of founder/front man Jhonn Balance, several tributes and collections of unreleased material have surfaced, the most recent of which was the 2014 release of Recoiled, which featured previously unheard version of COIL’s remixes of Nine Inch Nails. COIL co-founded Peter “Sleazy” Christopherson died in 2010.


Website (Brainwashed), Website (Threshold House)
Cold Spring
Website, Facebook, Twitter
Ilker Yücel (Ilker81x)

Leave a Comment


Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!